First Weeks in Paris

Two weeks ago today I left my house, family, and friends with two giant suitcases that were too heavy lift, a backpack, a purse the size of a backpack, and the September issue of Vogue to keep me occupied on my 10.5 hour flight to Paris, France where I will be studying for the next four months. During my first week here the majority of my time was spent attending daily school orientations, making wonderful new friends, exploring the wonders of Paris, drinking wine, eating too many baguettes with cheese, and of course sleeping (which for those of you who don’t know me is one of my favorite pastimes). My second week was spent doing similar things with few to add to the list like starting my first week of classes, making friends with locals and waiters in our neighborhood, booking a flight to Dublin, Ireland with my roommate Zoë, and yesterday venturing outside of Paris by train for the first time to the small ocean towns Deauville and Trouville (they were the inspiration for Carmel by the Sea). Within these first two weeks there have been struggles along the way, the biggest being the fact that I don’t speak any French, but I always seem to find ways to get by and the language barrier just inspires me to work harder to learn French. So far I have already learned so much and have had oh so much fun along the way.

Image

Jill, Mom, Dad and I before we set off for the San Francisco Airport.

Image

Dad and I before I went through airport security and said my goodbyes.

Image

 

Zoë and I on our 2nd night here.

Image

Yes it sparkles.

Image

 

Jardin du Luxembourg, one of my favorite places I’ve been so far

Image

Musée du Louvre outside at night.

ImageImage

Me overlooking La Seine River, (photos by Zoë Warren).

Image

Musée du Louvre once again (also taken by Zoë Warren).

 

*All photos were taken by my iPhone, I will try and be better about taking my camera places, it is just so heavy! Photos from the trip to the ocean yesterday will be up soon, I am still trying to get used to this blogging thing (but I am doing this even though I said I wouldn’t, keep in mind it will be mostly photos rather than words)… Friends and family I miss you all so much but thank goodness for technology, I am just an iMessage away (when wifi is available)! I hope 4 months will be enough time to explore this truly beautiful city, I guess if its not I will just need to return. 

avec tout mon amour, revoir pour le moment. 
Emily

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment